THE BRONX - The sentencing for the correction officers convicted of beating a man inside Rikers Island in 2012 range from six and a half years to just community service. 

Eliseo Perez Junior who was found guilty on the top charge of attempted gang assault, and who prosecutors say ordered the brutal attack on Jamal Lightfoot, was handed down a sentence of six and a half years in prison. 

Capt. Gerald Vaughn was sentenced to five and a half years behind bars.  

Four of the other correction officers involved, including Jose Parra, Tobias Parker, Alfred Rivera and David Rodriguez, who prosecutors say punched and kicked Lightfoot, were sentenced to four and half years in prison.  
Both Harmon Frierson and Dwayne Maynard, who were found guilty on official misconduct, were set free receiving 500 hours of community service. 

The correction officers were facing a maximum sentence of 15 years in prison for attempted gang assault. 

Their attorney says they are all planning to appeal.