New York City Back-to-School 2018 Resources

The NYC Department of Education offers a comprehensive list of resources and information available to parents and students who attend public, private and charter schools in the five boroughs. Here are some of the links that may be useful.

NYC Department of Education:
Website - More Information

Information on enrolling your child:
Learn about enrollment

Back to School Guide:
Family Welcome Centers
Are you a new student?

Find Your School Information:
More Information

Charter Schools Resources:
How to enroll in charter schools

Catholic Schools in NYC:
Education Resources for Catholic Schools in the Archdiocese of New York

Multilingual Learners
English Language Learners
Programs for ELL students
Bilingual Education

Special Education Resources:
More Information
Testing accommodations
Specialized Transportation

Getting to School:
Transportation Overview

What’s for Lunch today?
Lunch menu and nutrition information

Free Meals Program:
More Information

After-School Programs:
More Information

NYC Public Schools Calendar:
2019-2020 DOE Calendar
At-A-Glance

 

NYC Public Schools 2018 Calendar:

Wed, Sep 05, 2018      
First Day of School

Thu, Sep 06, 2018        
First Full Day for Non-District 75 Kindergarten Students

Mon, Sep 10, 2018      
Rosh Hashanah: Schools Closed

Tue, Sep 11, 2018        
Rosh Hashanah: Schools Closed

Wed, Sep 19, 2018      
Yom Kippur: Schools Closed

Mon, Oct 08, 2018       
Columbus Day Observed: Schools closed

Tue, Nov 06, 2018        
Election Day: Students do not attend school

Mon, Nov 12, 2018      
Veterans Day Observed: schools closed

Thu, Nov 22, 2018-Fri, Nov 23, 2018                
Thanksgiving Recess: schools closed

Mon, Dec 24, 2018 - Tue, Jan 01, 2019            
Winter Recess: schools closed

Wed, Jan 02, 2019       
School resumes

Mon, Jan 21, 2019       
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day: schools closed

Tue, Feb 05, 2019        
Lunar New Year: schools closed

Mon, Feb 18, 2019-Fri, Feb 22, 2019                
Midwinter Recess: schools closed

Fri, Apr 19, 2019-Fri, Apr 26, 2019                        
Spring Recess: schools closed

Mon, May 27, 2019     
Memorial Day: schools closed

Tue, Jun 04, 2019         
Eid al-Fitr: schools closed

Thu, Jun 06, 2019         
Anniversary Day: students do not attend

Wed, Jun 26, 2019       
Last Day For All Students

sorry to interrupt
your first 20 are free
Access to News 12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Spectrum Networks® and Service ElectricSM customers.
Please enjoy 20 complimentary views of articles, photos, and videos during the next 30 days.
you have reached your 20 view limit
Access to News 12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Spectrum Networks® and Service ElectricSM customers.
Please login or create an account to continue enjoying News12.
Our sign-up page is undergoing maintenance and is not currently available. However, you will be given direct access to news12.com while we complete our upgrade.
When we are back up and running you will be prompted at that time to complete your sign in. Until then, enjoy the local news, weather, traffic and more that's "as local as local news gets."