President Biden issues travel ban for travelers from African countries following omicron variant rise

The nation is on high alert as health experts scramble to control the new COVID variant omicron first detected in South Africa. President Joe Biden has now issued a travel ban for travelers from a number of African countries.
Beginning Monday, all U.S. airports will deny entry to most travelers coming from eight south African countries.
The ban has been put in place as a precaution but it will not apply to U.S. citizens or permanent residents. Gov. Kathy Hochul has issued an executive order that will allow officials to get more critical supplies for fighting the pandemic.
One South African vaccinologist believes the omicron variant will not be the last of the COVID variants to come.
"The more unvaccinated, the more of the virus that's going to circulate and greater opportunity for there to be mutations," says Shabir Madhi, vaccinology professor.
President Biden will offer an update on the variant and on the U.S. response. While experts say each variant is different, the omicron variant is believed to be very contagious. Experts are urging people to be proactive and get vaccinated as soon as possible.